Wednesday, July 27, 2011


TVXQ (often stylized TVXQ!or TVfXQ), an acronym for Tong Vfang Xien Qi Korean: 동방신기; (traditional Chinese: 東方神起; simplified Chinese: 东方神起; pinyin: Dōngfāngshénqǐ; Japanese: Tōhōshinki), is a South Korean pop quintet formed under SM Entertainment in 2003. In South Korea they are known as Dong Bang Shin Ki(동방신기), often abbreviated as DBSK; they were later introduced in Japan as Tohoshinki (東方神起 Tōhōshinki?) under the Avex sub-label Rhythm Zone in 2005.
Their name translates as "The Rising Gods of the East".Initially, there were five members in TVXQ, including U-Know Yunho (leader), Max Changmin, Hero Jaejoong, Micky Yoochun, and Xiah Junsu. In 2009, Hero, Micky, and Xiah left SM Entertainment and formed another group called JYJ after filing a lawsuit against it. Due to this lawsuit, TVXQ suspended their activities for 2 years and 3 months in Korea. In early 2011, U-Know Yunho and Max Changmin re-started their music activities under the name TVXQ as a duo.
In 2008, with the release of their sixteenth Japanese single, "Purple Line", which debuted atop the Oricon single chart, TVXQ became the fifth non-Japanese Asian artist and the first male foreign group to have a number-one single on the chart. With their twenty-third single, "Dōshite Kimi o Suki ni Natte Shimattandarō?", TVXQ set a new record, becoming the first foreign artist to have three singles debut atop the chart. In 2010, with the release of their thirtieth single, "Toki o Tomete", TVXQ extended their record, making them the first foreign artist to have eight number-one singles on the Oricon.
In February 2010, with the release of TVXQ's first Japanese compilation album which sold around 413,000 copies on the first week of its release, TVXQ set the record for the highest first-week sales by a foreign group, which was last set by Bon Jovi in 1995 for 379,000 copies.
In mid-2009, three of the five members, Yoochun, Jaejoong, and Junsu, who were to become JYJ, filed a lawsuit against their South Korean record label, SM Entertainment, arguing that the 13-year length and structure of their exclusive contracts as well as the terms of profit distribution were unilaterally disadvantageous towards the artists and should be invalidated. JYJ continued music activities in Japan for over half a year after the filing of the injunction until their Japanese agency, Avex, announced a group hiatus in early 2010. However, their contract with Avex was later suspended due to another lawsuit against Avex.
Meanwhile, U-Know Yunho and Max Changmin, who remain under contract with SM Entertainment continued their music career under the name TVXQ, released a new album, Keep Your Head Down, in South Korea in January 5, 2011 and their single "Why? (Keep Your Head Down)" was released by Avex Trax in Japan on January 26, 2011. Their new Japanese single "Superstar" will be released on July 20, 2011.
TVXQ discography

Korean studio albums
Tri-angle (2004)
Rising Sun (2005)
"O"-Jung.Ban.Hap. (2006)
Mirotic (2008)
Keep Your Head Down (2011)

Korean compilation albums
Christmas Gift from Dong Bang Shin Gi (2004)

Japanese studio albums
Heart, Mind and Soul (2006)
Five in the Black (2007)
T (2008)
The Secret Code (2009)

Japanese compilation albums
Best Selection 2010 (2010)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Total Pageviews

Popular Posts